Here we are almost a month later without a post.  It was not my intention as I had not forgotten Healthly Nerdy Girl, but instead my not even 3 month old Sony Vaio’s motherboard decided to die.  Its been in shop for the past two weeks and its looking like the maximum 3-4 week period is going to happen.  Plus Sony forgot to include my recovery disks which has been the biggest hassle.  I’m so grateful that my mom is allowing me to use her mini-dell as I would be lost without it.

.

100 books in a Year Challenge;

January 2012

.

Keeping up with my goal to read 100 books this year, February wasn’t my strongest month due to the fact I only finished 4 books (one I started February 29th and finished two days later).  I’m only counting actual novels/young adult books, but Febraury was childrens book month for me as I read at least 20 over the course of the month (some of which I annotated in fact).  Here’s what I read this month which brings my total books up to 15;

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12) The Haunted Flute and Other Japanese Stories by Warwick Goble (5/5)

I love folklore and for the longest time I’ve been looking for a good collection of several Japanese stories.  The Haunted Flute presents several classic tales, but adds in several that readers may not be as familiar with.  The writing style and presentation are very attractive and for fans of folklore (especially Japanese), this is the best collection I have found.

.

13) Millicent Min, Girl Genius by Lisa Yee (5/5)

I grabbed this book initially as part of a research assignment for one of my classes.  I highly enjoyed this book and Millicent was a very refreshing character.  The plot isn’t your typical young adult book and there’s a lot of good feel in the pages.  Millicent in a great character adn I was very fond of her.  This book shows an extraordinary girl who is true to herself and others.  Its a quick read, but a highly enjoyable one.

.

red pyramid

14) The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan (4/5)

I love Egyptian mythology, so this book was more my style that his series based on Greek Mythology.  I thought Riordan did a great job with this series and I’m excited to read the continuing tales of Sadie and Carter.  There was nothing I really disliked with this series, but for as good as it was, it still has some room to continue growing.

.

15) The Demigod Files by Rick Riordan (3/5)

It was just ok.  I wasn’t really crazy about it, but it was a decent read for fans of the Percy Jackson series.  It was nice to see side stories about characters like Nico and Percy, but if you’re not a fan of the series, you won’t enjoy this one.

.

Hopefully March will involve more reading as I work towards my goal to read 100 books in a year.  I’m not reading anything at the moment do to having so much reading related to classes, but I’m doing better than this time last year (3 books between January-March as I was student teaching).

.

What was the best book you read in February?

