As it happens around this time of day (either right after teaching or after the afternoon crash) my stomach growled and my blood sugar was crashing.  After I popped onto the Global Pokemon Link and got Arceus and a koffing, I went to the kitchen to get exactly what I was craving..

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Roasted red pepper hummus  with corn chips of course 😉

.

I’ve never been one to eat three meals a day.  I have to have an afternoon snack and sometimes even a late night snack.  As I was eating my hummus snack, I have to wonder what other people go for during their snack attacks.  I tend to cycle through the following eight and while the occasional baked good/sugary treat can work, I’ve learned it doesn’t really help (UNLESS coffee is involved) keep me full or perk me up.  Hm.

.

#1 Seaweed Snacks

Sea's Gift

I’ll be honest, this one has gotten me more than a few strange looks.  I was munching away during lunch last week in the office at the school, When the nurse stopped and asked “What ARE you eating?”

“Seaweed, wanna try some?”

*raises eyebrow* Sure.  (sadly she didn’t like it)

I like the saltiness and you get a veggie serving from eating them.  They’re NOT for everyone, but if you can get into them, they make a great snack.

.

#2-Luna Bars

I have a special love for these bars.  They’re full of vitamins and essentials and pack enough punch to get you over the afternoon lurch.  They are geared towards women, but I’m sure they’d still good if you’re a guy. My favorite flavors are;

  • Blueberry (!!!!!!!!!!)
  • Vanilla Almond (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
  • Nutz over chocolate (!!!!!)
  • Toasted Nuts ‘n Cranberry

They recently released a new flavor called Peanut butter honey pretzel. Its not bad at all!  Not something I’ll be bolting to the store for, but very good nevertheless.

.

#3 Yogurt

Yogurt is filling, customizable and pretty good for you as long as you stick to natural brands.  I stick with the Whole Soy and Co and Soy Delicious brands, but I also recommend Stoneyfield, Chobani and wallaby.  I love adding chia seeds, granola or fresh strawberries in mine.

.

#4 Fresh Fruit

Its hard to go wrong with fresh fruit such as strawberries, bananas, apples, grapes and oranges.  They’re easy to carry around and are loaded with vitamins that can perk you up and keep your energy levels up thanks to natural sugars (meaning they stay unlike processed sugars)

.

#5. Nuts (or make your own trailmix!)

They’re easy to carry around, full of healthy fats, omega3-s, fiber, protein…and with the exception of the high calorie count, they’re suberb!  My favorite nuts tend to be cashews, pistachios, and toasted almonds.

.

#6-Cereal

Growing up, I could have eaten cereal 2/3 meals and been a happy camper.  As an adult, a bowl of cereal just doesn’t cut it for a meal unless I’m eating light.  As a snack its a great pre-workout snack or late night snack.  My favorites are Peanut butter and chocolate puffins, Triple Berry Granola (Arhcer farms), Spelt flakes, Kashi Go Lean and Cinnamon Harvest (Kashi).

.

#7-Toast (Nut butter and banana)

03/01/09 Banana Almond Butter Agave Toast

Not your typical toast, but Nut butter and Banana toast.  This is one of my favorite pre-workout and afternoon snacks and it never seems to get old.  I use almond butter (prefer the taste and its better for you) and slice up about 1/3-1/2 a banana and munch away.

.

#8 (tie) Hummus and crackers or Spinach and crackers

Hummus & Pita

No contest, hummus and crackers (or pita chips!) is always a win in my book.  Its comforting, gives you a serving a veggies and fills you up.  I did have to add spinach and crackers because despite its oddity, its what I lived off snack wise during student teaching last year.  You simply wrap a cracker in spinach and munch away 🙂

.

What are your favorite snacks?

